Melis László (violin)

Hungarian violin player

(b. Budapest, Hungary, 14 August 1953)

László Melis is a Hungarian composer and violinist. He writes primarily in the minimal style and his compositions are often characterized by a propulsive, bouncy quality. Melis was a founding member of the Hungarian new music group Group 180, which during its existence (1978-1990) performed and recorded five of his compositions.

Melis has composed music for film, winning the Award for Best Music for his work in the animated pieces, A szél (“The Wind”) and Gyurmatek (“Clay Play”) at the 2nd Kecskemét Animation Film Festival. He composed the score for the Hungarian award-winning film,Son of Saul. He has also worked extensively in theater, creating incidental music for theatrical productions. His compositions have been recorded by the BMC and Hungaroton labels.


Involved in György Szabados "Body of Work":

Member of

  1979: György Szabados & Contemporary Music Workshop



  see Discog

  • Etude for Three Mirrors (1980)
  • Ceremony (1981)
  • The Room (1982)
  • Songs of Maldoror (1984)
  • The Empire of the Smile (1985)
  • Mulomedicina Chironis (1989)
  • Songs of Pearl (1994)
  • The Death of Kleist (1994)
  • Exhibition of Man (1995)
  • The Apocalypse of Enoch (1997)
  • Iphigenia in Aulis (1998)
  • Black & White (1999)
  • Of Time and the River (2000)
  • Cello Mania (2000)



Corrections and additions are welcome – please contact webmaster: info@gyö